Taking a Look at MDE's New Technology Standards

Ryan Cayce's picture

The Michigan Department of Education recently released a new set of technology standards that will replace the old 2009 Michigan Educational Technology Standards for Students (METS-S). These new standards are called the Michigan Integrated Technology Educational Competencies for Students (MITECS) and are meant to be taught within the core curriculum of classes.

This is a move away from the practice of assessing the technology skills of 8th graders as was required under the now-defunct Enhancing Education Through Technology (E2T2) grant. Instead of a one-time assessment, schools are now encouraged to promote technology competency skills through their everyday curriculum no matter the content area.

The new MITECS standards are broken down into the following categories:

  1. Empowered Learner
  2. Digital Citizen
  3. Knowledge Constructor
  4. Innovative Designer
  5. Computational Thinker
  6. Creative Communicator
  7. Global Collaborator

Some other basic takeaways from the MITECS announcement includes:

  • The recommendation that schools no longer offer stand alone technology classes, rather embedding the standards in other content.
  • MITECS aligns with the International Society of Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards for Students.
  • MITECS is integrated with MDE’s Top 10 in 10 plan with a focus on Learner Centered Supports.


Here are some resources that Principals may find helpful:

  • A Google slide deck was created to help explain the new standards to teachers, students, and parents.
  • To review all of the MITECS standards, grade-level scope and sequences, and other information, visit http://www.techplan.org/mitecs/.
  • To see the official MDE memo regarding this change, click here.